Fiber Festival Season Kickoff

Today, Lara and I headed to the Connecticut Sheep, Wool, and Fiber Festival. I love fiber festivals – so much to see and do. The CT one is small and family friendly – lots of 4H’ers eager to tell you about their Angora rabbits, really accessible demonstrations, and so on.

Here’s some sheep hanging out waiting for the sheepdog competition.

8 great iPhotos

There were some really adorable little lambs in one of the barns, but the light was way too low to snap a picture. It was a beautiful day outside and a nice environment for browsing.

My lamb burger v. lamb stew angst resolved itself when there wasn’t any lamb stew ready when we were in line for food (at 11:15am), and I didn’t really want to wait 20 minutes for lunch!

8 great iPhotos

Lara and I swung by the UConn Dairy Bar on the way home to try their ice cream. It was delicious, but nowhere near as great as Rich’s Dairy Farm (best ice cream in CT, period!). Based on just one tasting, I’d give the edge to Michigan State in battle of the dairy bars, but I might have to do further study before coming to a complete conclusion.

I continued Day-of-Fiber-2010 with a trip to Torrington to the Artwell Gallery. They’re hosting an exhibition called Warp Factors featuring lots of weaving and some other fiber arts. There are some great weaving pieces and a fantastic set of needle-felted sheep, sheepdogs, and shepherds. There is also an upcycled felted piece that’s just beautiful – hours and hours of work. I have once piece there, a scarf I called Aquatic.

Knitting Dec 09

It was great to get to talk to a lot of other people about weaving. It was really inspiring – I have some great ideas about seaming larger projects together, using beads in weaving, and trying to use negative space in weaving.

About Kristy Lamb

I recently finished my PhD in genetics at Yale and am currently a postdoc at Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University in NYC. I love science, people, and the fiber arts. We'll call it my muse. I taught myself to knit over Christmas break in 2002, when I was home from my sophomore year in college and was terribly bored. Despite starting with three big mistakes (very long aluminum needles, a very bad Coats & Clark how to knit book, and Lion Brand Homespun), I kept at knitting, even after that first 1/2 hour trying to tie a slipknot. Science...seems to be much the same process as the above.
This entry was posted in Adventures, fiber community, weaving. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

