Finish Line

I really do finish things.

I just forget to blog about them.

So, I give you: my knitting since January 2010.

7 great iPhotos

One pair of ribbed socks for my dad.

And a second pair of ribbed socks for my dad.

4 great iPhotos

Then a third pair of ribbed socks for my dad.

4 great iPhotos

Aaaaand a fourth pair of socks for my dad.

One of my goals for this weekend is to finish pair five. They’re on the toes (and they’re top-down.

It might be a while before I knit socks again.

I knit a lace jabot out of cashmere (sigh) – Artful Yarns cashmere, it took just one skein, and it was super-cute. My friend Andi had asked for a grown-up scarf. My hope is she can wear this in NC in both the winter and in the over-air-conditioned summer offices, and be adorable and professional all at once.

Sweater Shoot

I also had a lot of fun with ravelympics, which is a challenge to knit/crochet/spin/weave something during the Winter Olympics.

I cast on for Saint James at the RUF Winter retreat at Cape Cod the Friday night of the opening ceremonies and finished in TEN days – I was wearing my sweater on a Wednesday while the Olympics were still going.

Two days in:
17 great iPhotos

Five days in:
4 great iPhotos

Ten days in:
Sweater Shoot

A-mazing on me.
Sweater Shoot

Sweaterboard cross Ravelympics

And I also frogged a TON of half-done, abandoned projects to reclaim the yarn. Hats and shawls and booties and all sorts of things that had a serious problem. The yarn is back in the wild, waiting to be used again.

Aerial Unwind

I did finish those mitts for Molly’s little one. They’re too cute and she loves them. He’s a little too small to know the difference.

FOUR at a time baby mitts via magic loop on one long circular needle. I’m awesome.

9 great iPhotos

9 great iPhotos

9 great iPhotos

Finally, I had some minor adventures in the dye pot this month…with leftover Easter Egg dye! After some discussion, Rosaline and I concluded that Easter Egg coloring had to be food-safe dye. So we threw some on some yarn.

2 great iPhotos

2 great iPhotos

Whew. I’ve been a busy girl. I’ve also been up to some sewing, but that’ll go into another post.

About Kristy Lamb

I recently finished my PhD in genetics at Yale and am currently a postdoc at Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University in NYC. I love science, people, and the fiber arts. We'll call it my muse. I taught myself to knit over Christmas break in 2002, when I was home from my sophomore year in college and was terribly bored. Despite starting with three big mistakes (very long aluminum needles, a very bad Coats & Clark how to knit book, and Lion Brand Homespun), I kept at knitting, even after that first 1/2 hour trying to tie a slipknot. Science...seems to be much the same process as the above.
This entry was posted in fiber community, FOs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

