Adventures in Quilting Land

I’ve also been up to some sewing and quilting these days.

I go to the block of the month sampler club at Close to Home Milford. Next month, it’ll be Close to Home Orange – a wee bit closer to me!

Some of the blocks so far this round are below.

3 great iPhotos
Started out easy enough!

3 great iPhotos
I love the Dresden plate. This one was so much fun.

3 great iPhotos
This one was quite easy – I could see myself going for a whole quilt out of this block (from the Night and Day book).

The shop had just gotten in the Lakehouse Dry Goods Dolly Dresses 2 panel and coordinating fabrics. I had never seen anything by Holly Holderman, but oh my goodness – her sense of color and style very much fits with mine. I’m looking forward to using those fabrics in the (hopefully near) future.

The other sewing adventure I have on the horizon is kitchen curtains. I’ll hopefully get around to them sometime this week. I’ve had the fabric a while, but there have been a lot of other around-the-house things I wanted to take care of first. I think the curtains and I are ready to rock now that I’ve attacked the windows with Windex. Double-hung windows are an absolute godsend for a second floor apartment!

About Kristy Lamb

I recently finished my PhD in genetics at Yale and am currently a postdoc at Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University in NYC. I love science, people, and the fiber arts. We'll call it my muse. I taught myself to knit over Christmas break in 2002, when I was home from my sophomore year in college and was terribly bored. Despite starting with three big mistakes (very long aluminum needles, a very bad Coats & Clark how to knit book, and Lion Brand Homespun), I kept at knitting, even after that first 1/2 hour trying to tie a slipknot. Science...seems to be much the same process as the above.
This entry was posted in sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

