Dyeing and Weaving Adventures

February 2010 was good to me.

I started with month with the visit from a dear old friend.

Dyeing with Kara

Who was kind enough to show up with her dyes in tow. We had a great time (at like 1:30 in the morning) dyeing yarn with acid dyes (the jacquard dyes that Knitpicks sells).

Fortunately Kara had dyepots, because she’s *not* making spaghetti here.

Dyeing with Kara

We soaked the yarn in water and vinegar then reconstituted the dyes. I chose red and blue then green and yellow. We got some water nice and warm.

For the green and yellow, I did the “pour over different halves of the skein in the pot” method.

Dyeing with Kara

It turned out GREAT!

Dyeing with Kara

The red and blue skein, well, we talked about not wanting the “John Philip Sousa” effect. It happened anyways, looking into the pot.

Dyeing with Kara

Our best idea, to save it, at 2am, was to add more blue.

Dyeing with Kara

For once, 2am was BRILLIANT!

IMG_3255.JPG

I’m quite pleased with that skein, and am looking forward to using these yarns (perhaps for some weaving projects?) and dyeing more in the future.

Weaving club at In Sheep’s Clothing was great this month. We talked about planning projects, and I’m thinking more about a big alpaca shawl I’d like to do. I picked up a book about doing patterns on the rigid heddle loom to help me with the planning of the shawl. The suggestion for my freakishly long pink scarf was to make a bag out of it, and I think that’s a great idea – I’ll be doing it soon!

About Kristy Lamb

I recently finished my PhD in genetics at Yale and am currently a postdoc at Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University in NYC. I love science, people, and the fiber arts. We'll call it my muse. I taught myself to knit over Christmas break in 2002, when I was home from my sophomore year in college and was terribly bored. Despite starting with three big mistakes (very long aluminum needles, a very bad Coats & Clark how to knit book, and Lion Brand Homespun), I kept at knitting, even after that first 1/2 hour trying to tie a slipknot. Science...seems to be much the same process as the above.
This entry was posted in Adventures, fiber community, weaving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dyeing and Weaving Adventures

  1. Pingback: Traveling Damson! | The Knitting Lamb

  2. Pingback: Traveling Damson! | The Knitting Lamb

Leave a Reply

