Back on a weaving streak

I’ve been back on a weaving streak lately. I really love the size of the rigid heddle loom for that – if I had something larger, that would not fold away nicely, I feel guilty as weaving waxed and waned.

I wove a great wide scarf/shawl out of some silk I bought at Stitches. It’s beautiful, but silk is a pain in the loom – it very much wants to stick to itself, resulting in pilling in the shed. Yikes.

IMG_3185

I bought some Bo Peep’s Not Just for Socks from Connecticut Yarn and Wool at Stitches back in October. It’s a great yarn and wove up beautifully.

IMG_3170

I feel like this scarf is one where I could especially see how important blocking is to finishing weaving projects. See? Much better!

IMG_3176

Finally, I made another really fabulous blue and silver scarf out of leftover yarns. Most of these blues are now all used up. This time, I tied the yarns off at both ends as I threaded them instead of carrying them over without tying them off, and the result was easier, neater weaving.

IMG_3166

About Kristy Lamb

I recently finished my PhD in genetics at Yale and am currently a postdoc at Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University in NYC. I love science, people, and the fiber arts. We'll call it my muse. I taught myself to knit over Christmas break in 2002, when I was home from my sophomore year in college and was terribly bored. Despite starting with three big mistakes (very long aluminum needles, a very bad Coats & Clark how to knit book, and Lion Brand Homespun), I kept at knitting, even after that first 1/2 hour trying to tie a slipknot. Science...seems to be much the same process as the above.
This entry was posted in FOs, Gifts, weaving and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

