Bookending September

My, I let time just get away from me. So much knitting to share!

Back in August, I finally dipped into some of the lovely alpaca yarn I bought a while ago at Southwind Farms. Several friends and I drove up there in June 2008 and picked out yarns. I bought this lovely gray yarn that was from Lia’s 2006 blue-ribbon winning fleece.

This is Lia.

photo.jpg

Gorgeous, gorgeous yarn.

On a road trip to North Carolina and back in mid-August, I made myself a lovely cabled hat. The pattern is called “Snappy Hat” and is available on Ravelry.

IMG_2175

I then made some matching fingerless gloves. They’re awesome. I’ll be all cozy when the weather turns cold!

Fingerless Mitts

I then kept the hat and cable love going by making a quick little hat out of leftover yarn from my Clapotis. It feels fantastic, looks great, and I will have the warmest head in all of Connecticut this winter.

IMG_2262.JPG

Right now, I have two big things on the needles. The first is Kernel, from the new Knitty, for which I have done 5/23 repeats. I blocked it a bit down at the bottom to make sure everything was looking okay. It’s looking better than okay. It’s looking GREAT!

2 great iPhotos

I also have Amused (again, with the Knitty love) on the needles. No pics in progress yet, but here’s my nifty little swatch.

2 great iPhotos

I’m very excited about October – Rhinebeck month! I’m taking a class, I’m staying in a cabin with friends, and I’m going to be amongst the peoples of the fibers. What could be better? The class I’m taking is a drop spindle class, with the same instructor (Donna Kay) that I took steeking from last year. In the same time slot as last year. We can only hope for a repeat of the absolutely stunning fall weather!

About Kristy Lamb

I recently finished my PhD in genetics at Yale and am currently a postdoc at Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University in NYC. I love science, people, and the fiber arts. We'll call it my muse. I taught myself to knit over Christmas break in 2002, when I was home from my sophomore year in college and was terribly bored. Despite starting with three big mistakes (very long aluminum needles, a very bad Coats & Clark how to knit book, and Lion Brand Homespun), I kept at knitting, even after that first 1/2 hour trying to tie a slipknot. Science...seems to be much the same process as the above.
This entry was posted in Adventures, alpaca, for me!, FOs, WIPs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

