Knit on

So my love of my new loom has been pretty prominent lately, but I do still knit.

I recently finished up a baby blanket out of Comfort Worsted and gifted it to the sweetest little two-month-old lady I’ve seen lately.

Janna's blanket

I’m pretty proud of it, and Mama was *very* excited by the prospect of machine wash and machine dry, so it made slogging along with acrylic worth it. I warped up the leftover yarn this evening to play around with clasped weft weaving tomorrow as weaving project number 3. I’m still trying to figure out the stand for my Knitter’s Loom, which arrived this week – when I pull the reed toward me the loom tilts on the stand. Hoping that’s not supposed to happen as it makes it very difficult to be consistent.

I’ve also started a pair of socks – cast on waiting for my plane home at RDU – and made real progress on my empire waist cardigan – hopefully there will be pretty light for pictures this weekend!

The last week was a bit less fibery – I traveled to North Carolina for the wedding of some dear friends. In the end, I elected not to wear my shrug – it was darn hot out there. On the flight down, I read “Calm My Anxious Heart” by Linda Dillow, which a friend in NC had loaned me and I needed to return. I hadn’t read on the plane in a while and it was nice to get some reading done for a change. While reading a book on contentment doesn’t yield contentment on it’s own, there was good food for thought for this season of my life.

I spent a lot of time visiting friends and family and not so much time with needles. You can’t knit and hold the baby at the same time, and the baby (or toddler, or five-year-old nephew begging to play) wins. I’m happy to get back to the fiber, though – it’s quintessentially me.

About Kristy Lamb

I recently finished my PhD in genetics at Yale and am currently a postdoc at Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University in NYC. I love science, people, and the fiber arts. We'll call it my muse. I taught myself to knit over Christmas break in 2002, when I was home from my sophomore year in college and was terribly bored. Despite starting with three big mistakes (very long aluminum needles, a very bad Coats & Clark how to knit book, and Lion Brand Homespun), I kept at knitting, even after that first 1/2 hour trying to tie a slipknot. Science...seems to be much the same process as the above.
This entry was posted in FOs, Gifts, weaving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

