Two scarves in two weeks?!?

Honestly, this weaving business is so much fun that it feels like cheating. I like scarves. I really do. I just don’t have that many because I *hate* to knit them. So boring. Going on and on and on and on…but *weaving* a scarf, well, it goes so fast, and there’s so much fun stuff going on with the colors. What girl could possibly expect to resist?

I warped this project on May 12 and finished it and blocked it on May 19. It’s really only 90% done – I haven’t trimmed the ends yet, because next month the Rigid Heddle Group at In Sheep’s Clothing is going to talk about different ways of finishing a project, and I think something twisty or braided could be really really really fun on this scarf.

I used every scrap of a skein of Rio de la Plata sock yarn
13 great iPhotos

When I bought the yarn, I was warned that even though it’s marked superwash, it’s not. And after having fulled this yarn, I totally believe it. I was able to get a corner of it felted in cold water. Absolutely terrible for socks. Beyond wonderful for a scarf!

I warped roughly ten inches across and roughly 85ish inches long. I should measure these things more exactly, but that’s my best guesstimation. When I first started weaving, I regretted not doing more ends per inch, but after seeing the finished product, I am rather satisfied with putting a single strand in each opening.

It’s so pretty.

Second weaving adventure

Second weaving adventure

Second weaving adventure

Finished size: 8 inches by 60 inches, excluding the fringe. Nice sized scarf.

Second weaving adventure

I think my loom will have to sit it out for the next week or so – I’ll be traveling to the Great State of NC for a wedding this weekend, and will have my trusty traveling companion – a sock – to keep me good company. I want to give some thought to what I’m going to weave next. I still need to work on my selvages, and I think a slightly thicker yarn may make that easier. I also want to play around with clasped weft weaving, which I learned about last weekend. I think I could do some fun stuff with color using clasped weft and really want to just play. We’ll see if inspiration strikes this weekend!

About Kristy Lamb

I recently finished my PhD in genetics at Yale and am currently a postdoc at Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University in NYC. I love science, people, and the fiber arts. We'll call it my muse. I taught myself to knit over Christmas break in 2002, when I was home from my sophomore year in college and was terribly bored. Despite starting with three big mistakes (very long aluminum needles, a very bad Coats & Clark how to knit book, and Lion Brand Homespun), I kept at knitting, even after that first 1/2 hour trying to tie a slipknot. Science...seems to be much the same process as the above.
This entry was posted in for me!, FOs, weaving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two scarves in two weeks?!?

  1. D says:

    looks great!

  2. Fantastic! I’m in love with weaving scarves too… super fast and super wearable. Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

