I love fiber festivals!

The 2009 Connecticut Sheep and Wool festival was last weekend in Tolland, CT. My friend Lara and I went up there, and it was a ton of fun!

There were beautiful sheep.

IMG_1719

The ones waiting to be sheared looked quite hot – it was in the 80s. I imagine getting sheared felt really nice.

IMG_1717

There were all kinds of talks; we stayed for part of one on angora bunnies. It was just so hard to hear in the area they set up the talks – right beside the shearing and next to the fleece sale. I should have taken more time to watch the weavers and the spinners. Next year.

IMG_1716

I really enjoyed the shepherding demonstrations. This dog was trying to herd the judges and their tent in addition to the sheep. Strong instincts in that one.

IMG_1721

All in all, a great day to be a knitting Lamb!

IMG_1722

I was a good girl – I told myself I could spend X amount, took cash, and spent cash. There was a used spinning wheel that was soooorely tempting but I resisted. Someday, but not today! Here’s what all I came home with…

IMG_1725

Sigh. Jewel sock yarn from Mocha’s Fiber Connection. I probably could have blown my whole budget in that booth. Be-a-u-tiful stuff. I’m thinking a summer shawl out of this guy – sadly, I think it’d be just short for Swallowtail. But we’ll see. I’ve had a rough week, and just petting this guy and looking at this skein has been a great comfort to me. I still have my teddy bear from when I was a kid (and I still sleep with it, actually) but yarn is even more comforting to sit and pet. If I wasn’t allergic, I’d so pick up a cat about now.

IMG_1731

There are about 670 yards of 2-ply alpaca from a Touch of Twist. Yuuum. Again, I’m thinking shawl. My two shawls are brown and sage green; I need some stuff that works with blacks/greys and reds.

I also indulged in some roving. I think I’m just determined to become good at spinning.

IMG_1730

This roving from Alpaca Obsession is just fabulous. They had some stuff with sparkles in it I should have picked up instead. It’s hard to be brave enough sometimes. I do love this stuff and look forward to spinning it up.

IMG_1733

This is from Hampden Hills: 20% silk, 80% merino. I’m really really really excited to spin this up, but definitely want more practice before I dive into it. It’ll be heavenly.

The lamburgers (baa with cheese!) at the festival were excellent, as was the lamb stew. My friend Lara picked up some soaps that smelled just heavenly – maybe next year. I’m still trying to force myself to go through my huuuuge stash of scented body washes that I accumulated over the last ten years. I don’t think I bought but two of them…the rest were gifts.

Afterwards, Lara and I did a bit of shopping at Joann’s and I picked up some sewing patterns on sale. Now I just need to learn how to follow a pattern and then I can sew clothing! I think next year, if we don’t want to do a pilgrimage to the giant Joann’s, we should map out non-interstate directions for the ride home. We definitely were in the mood to browse little antique shops on the side of the road!

This week was a crazy week with TA-ing, etc, but I did manage to knit a square for an Afghan for Afghans blanket.

2 great iPhotos

I just love knitters. With the sad news of the passing of Kay’s husband (Kay of Mason-Dixon Knitting) came the suggestion that if anyone felt like knitting something, Afghans for Afghans was a good cause. Knitters on Ravelry started organizing blankets and other knit-a-longs. This is a square for US Blanket #1. I’ll post a link to the finished picture when it joins its 11 friends to keep an Afghan child warm. The compassion of knitters just abounds. There is something therapeutic about knitting for charity, as well. I’ve been trying to sort some stuff out, and working on something for someone who has far more problems than me was the best possible thing to do this week.

In the week ahead, I hope to dive headlong back into selfish knitting. I need to finish Janna’s blanket, but I want to get back to my cardigan really soon. I have new needles to try with it – my first pair of knitpicks – so I’m hoping this is enough fun to push me to the finish.

About Kristy Lamb

I recently finished my PhD in genetics at Yale and am currently a postdoc at Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University in NYC. I love science, people, and the fiber arts. We'll call it my muse. I taught myself to knit over Christmas break in 2002, when I was home from my sophomore year in college and was terribly bored. Despite starting with three big mistakes (very long aluminum needles, a very bad Coats & Clark how to knit book, and Lion Brand Homespun), I kept at knitting, even after that first 1/2 hour trying to tie a slipknot. Science...seems to be much the same process as the above.
This entry was posted in Adventures, alpaca, fiber community, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I love fiber festivals!

  1. Nancy McRay says:

    So fun to see a picture of you! Too cute! Did you go to the Maryland Sheep and Wool Fest? It’s right in your neighborhood – right? If you did, you might have run into several Woven-arters.

    So, when do you start weaving?

    • Kristy says:

      I didn’t make it to Maryland – it’s closer to where I went to undergrad, but it a 6-10 hour drive from here. With all the Sheep and Wools in New England that are easy daytrips, it seems like quite a way to drive to go to Maryland, but I’m sure once I finish grad school and move back to NC, Maryland Sheep and Wool will be my new best friend. I’m still debating about driving up to New Hampshire this weekend for NH Sheep and Wool, and I’ll sadly be back home during Massachusetts S&W. But it’ll be okay – Rhinebeck is three hours away, and Stitches East is only forty minutes away, and they’re back to back weekends in October. I’m already saving up…

      Weaving may happen sooner than I was expecting. I’m needing a new distraction these days. I’m still looking into it (and into an actual spinning class to help me really get in gear).

Leave a Reply

