Empire update

This week I increased for my empire-waist cardigan. This required first putting the armholes on stitch holders, then doubling the number of stitches on the needle. Last night, I finally tried it on. I think it’s going to fit nicely. It’s still sort of hard to tell, because the stitches are pretty bunched up on the needle. I really need to invest in a 48 inch or so pair of Addis, since moving the stitches from the cord up onto the bamboo is getting very old, and a much longer pair would make trying things on SOOOO much easier.

I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about sewing in the past week. It’s my other fiber flirtation. I have a nice machine, I’m just sort of at an impasse for what to do with it. I’m not nearly confident enough to make clothes yet but would like to learn. I’ve checked around for sewing classes at my local community college to no avail. I adjusted the straps on a friend’s recital dress, and it’s really gotten me to thinking that I should be doing more in terms of sewing. I desperately want to find some resources – like Knitty and Stitch and Bitch were for me when I was a beginning knitter – that will both teach and inspire me.

About Kristy Lamb

I recently finished my PhD in genetics at Yale and am currently a postdoc at Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University in NYC. I love science, people, and the fiber arts. We'll call it my muse. I taught myself to knit over Christmas break in 2002, when I was home from my sophomore year in college and was terribly bored. Despite starting with three big mistakes (very long aluminum needles, a very bad Coats & Clark how to knit book, and Lion Brand Homespun), I kept at knitting, even after that first 1/2 hour trying to tie a slipknot. Science...seems to be much the same process as the above.
This entry was posted in for me!, sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

