Further spinning adventures

Friday night, I decided it was a spinning sort of night. I spun up the entire bag (it was four gloriously pre-drafted ounces) of merino/mohair mix that I bought from Heather at Kristal Sunnyside Wools on the Cape in Mass back in February. There’s a video of her farm that was taken recently here.

Here’s the fiber, pre-spinning
Brewster MA Yarn

And here’s a cute little skein, all spun up. Isn’t it just darling? I really liked the look of the single so decided to throw caution to the wind and knit with the single.
IMG_1609

I’m making the Misti Chunks and Ruffles scarf from my handspun – you can stalk my progress on Ravelry here. It’s another great use for the spiffy but expensive size 13dpns I bought for the mitterns! Here’s what I plowed through Friday night:
IMG_1626

Beautiful! I love the way that it’s showing off the yarn (and I’m also still in love with Saturday morning’s lighting!).

About Kristy Lamb

I recently finished my PhD in genetics at Yale and am currently a postdoc at Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University in NYC. I love science, people, and the fiber arts. We'll call it my muse. I taught myself to knit over Christmas break in 2002, when I was home from my sophomore year in college and was terribly bored. Despite starting with three big mistakes (very long aluminum needles, a very bad Coats & Clark how to knit book, and Lion Brand Homespun), I kept at knitting, even after that first 1/2 hour trying to tie a slipknot. Science...seems to be much the same process as the above.
This entry was posted in Adventures, for me! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Further spinning adventures

  1. Barb says:

    Thanks for visiting me and my lambs, Kristy. Your photos of your projects are lovely. I’m impressed by how much you accomplish (and wish I could find time to finish projects!). Happy spring.

Leave a Reply

