Adventures in steeking

So I recently steeked my first sweater, and am insanely proud of it.

It all started about a year ago, when another Raveler sent me a message asking if I wanted to trade some of my extra 4ply cotton (9 skeins) for some Cascade220 (8 skeins).  Sounded good to me, so I said yes.

DSCF1557

Once I had a sweater’s worth of Cascade on my hands, I started seeking patterns.  I soon fell in love with the Bountiful Bohus from More Big Girl Knits. Canadian Living even had the pattern online for free.  It was beautiful and needed two extra colors – and I had two coordinating colors of Paton’s Classic Merino wool in stash.  Perfect. A “free” sweater is enough to make a grad student jump with glee.

DSCF1473.JPG

I took a class on steeking in Rhinebeck in October, where I learned how to knit with two colors (easy peasy, since I can knit English and continental). So in November, I got knitting. I love things knitted in the round. 🙂  I was able to try it on as I went, which helped a lot.  The fit is just perfect (I knit the 48) and the waist shaping is just awesome.  I’ll probably use it on other projects.

IMG_0059

All done in one piece.  I was a touch worried about the machine-sewing of the steeks (I was convinced my machine would eat my sweater) but it actually went rather smoothly.  Nothing to fear here folks.
Steeking Fun

The first cut!
Steeking Fun

This is kind of fun…
Steeking Fun

Triumph!
Steeking Fun

And here’s the final result:
finished bohus

finished bohus

finished bohus

finished bohus

The buttons are lovely – I picked them out at the Yarn Barn in Woodbridge.  They have an interesting shape and a lovely mother-of-pearl sheen to them.

I just need to get a picture on me – it looks great. I’m sooo proud and can’t wait to knit my next sweater!

About Kristy Lamb

I recently finished my PhD in genetics at Yale and am currently a postdoc at Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University in NYC. I love science, people, and the fiber arts. We'll call it my muse. I taught myself to knit over Christmas break in 2002, when I was home from my sophomore year in college and was terribly bored. Despite starting with three big mistakes (very long aluminum needles, a very bad Coats & Clark how to knit book, and Lion Brand Homespun), I kept at knitting, even after that first 1/2 hour trying to tie a slipknot. Science...seems to be much the same process as the above.
This entry was posted in for me!, sweaters and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

